top of page
  • Writer's picturevictoria huynh

Jade Throne in a cave ! ?

Updated: Apr 19, 2019


Seoul National University has a fairly large exchange student population, and their student exchange club - SNU Buddy - divides us all into 10 different groups (w/ about 35 people per group). The groups individually plan their own activities, trips, meals, etc. It's a really great way to meet new people and a really easy way to make friends. 10/10.


My group planed an overnight trip to Yeongwol, a small county south of Seoul, and here's a quick recap of what we did.

 

GOSSI CAVE

After three long gruesome hours aboard a bus, my group arrived at our first stop - Gossi Cave.


The limestone cave, some say formed 400 million to 500 million years ago, was named after Go Jong-won and his family, who hid in there during the invasion of the Japanese army.

Gossi cave is now a natural monument and open to the public.


We strapped our helmets on and snaked our way down the winding trail (praying that we don't step on bat guano). There was a clear stream of water beneath us (that I couldn't get a picture of to save my life) and lots of different stalactites and stalagmites formations.


The highlight of this cave - and where the trail also ends - is the Jade Throne.


I honestly could not (and still don't) see the shape of it. Here's a photo, please let me know if you can see any sort of outline. My housemates and I have been staring at this photo for a while now and we still don't see it. help.


Nevertheless, the cave was a cool experience, and one that I never thought I would have while studying abroad.






 

DONGANG RIVER HOUSE

We stayed in a house that overlooked Dongang River, and it snowed the entire time!! After dinner and a lot of party games, we all crashed on the (heated) floor.


Stepping outside of Seoul was such a different, refreshing experience and something that I highly recommend if you choose to study here. School's rough, and taking a little break from the studying and the city in general - even though it was just for a day - really reanimated my soul.


!!!!! but now it's back to school!




<3,

vic

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page