top of page
  • Writer's picturevictoria huynh

A homage to Taiwanese Bubble Tea - feat. earthquake !!!! !!

Updated: May 6, 2019


Kleen & I spent a few days in Taiwan where we visited a whole string of their beautiful, historical landmarks and immersed ourselves into their rich culture - and that blog post will be coming shortly.


This post though, the first post of my Taiwan series, is just for bubble tea.


Before arriving to Taiwan, Kleen & I made vows to drink as much milk tea as possible. Since we're women of our word, we stopped at every milk tea shop we came across.

Every. Single. One.


They're all great but our favorite chain is 50嵐 (50 Lan). It's a must-try if you're in Taiwan.

-----a Large Green Tea Milk Tea with Boba, was 50 NT$ (which is about 1.60 USD) !!!


There was a point on Day 1 where the ground started swaying, and I thought that I was fainting! Everything was shaking and I genuinely thought it was because of the ridiculous amount of bubble tea I've been consuming.


BUT, it turned out that it was just an earthquake! A classic 6.1 magnitude earthquake.


Kleen & I were at the Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall sipping on (you guessed it) bubble tea when the earthquake struck. Thankfully nobody was injured and not a single drop of tea was split.


The point is, bubble tea does not make you faint. That itself should be celebrated. with more bubble tea.


I started drafting this post on our last night in Taiwan. Here's a photo of Kleen in bed still dinking her tea.




I miss Taiwan already.




<3,

vic

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page